* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

March 01* 2005, 12:05 am
i don't know what made me remember this but for some reason i just thought about someone i knew when i was a kid. he was my grandparent's neighbor.

he was a retired guy who had worked for the railroad.
and he wore striped overalls and caps everyday.
and he let me make footprints when he redid the cement in his driveway.
and his name was a city or a state, i can't remember.
and one day he died while he was in the bathroom.
but i was a little kid so i didn't get it.
i feel like i just got it.

i don't know why. i was reading something and i just remembered this so vividly.

i think his wife or his son found him. all i really remember is that we didn't go through that yard anymore.

i also remember, with totally clarity, that i was really embarrassed for him when i heard that he died in the bathroom. i thought that would be so humiliating. my grandma told me he wouldn't mind since he wasn't in the body anymore and that made me feel better.

i think i still sort of feel embarrassed for him though.

i wish i could remember his name.

previous * next