* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

April 03, 2002, 3:53 am i enjoy sleeping with another person in the bed.

when i was a kid my sister and i spent a lot of time at our grandparent's house. and we would inevitably fight over who would get to sleep with grandma (as our grandparents had/have separate bedrooms). and whoever lost had to sleep with my grandpa. when i lost he'd grumble complaints about how i would kick him all night.

i am not a still sleeper. i thrash and move and get things done people! and when i was a kid (at least i haven't heard about it lately) i would grind my teeth very loudly- loud enough to wake people up- loud enough to chip a tooth.

my sister and i also tended to share a bed- at least at my mom's places. and at some point my sister started complaining about my kicking. i thought she was just repeating my grampa to be funny so i didn't listen to her. and she would pinch me when i would fall asleep, so hard that it would draw blood- just because she knew i didn't have fingernails and could not retaliate. so maybe she deserved the kicks.

but at some point i became better at sleeping with other people- less thrashy.

my roommates (especially one roommate in particular- michelle) at some point saw nothing wrong with laying all over me and falling asleep. i just got used to her and started not even noticing her even when she ate pasta off of my arm.

tim was the first boy who got me used to sleeping with a boy. (or maybe it was joe- but joe was more about staying up all night and playing chess than sleeping).

tim liked me sleeping at his place in fridays so we could watch cartoons at 7am on saturday. it was nice. i never dated him, but my roommates did refer to him as my "boyfriend" and pointed out that his girlfriend was totally right for not liking me.

but it was nice for me atleast.

i have a friend who loves to sleep, even more than i do. and i know she gets annoyed with her boyfriend when he sleeps over. she'd rather have the whole bed and not have to worry about sharing blankets etc... i like doing those things.

when i started dating mike he slept over very early on and i quickly learned that he is a "snuggily" sleeper. it was hard sometimes to get up to use the restroom in the night because his grip was so tight. i complained about it then- but more in a joking way.

this may be why i am so opposed to us sleeping separately when we are not getting along. or maybe it's just because it makes me feel like we're the parents on "7th heaven". the mom just always seems to have a pillow and blanket ready to hand her husband every time they have a difference of opinion and he just takes it and shrugs off. can that really solve anything? it just makes it hard for me to sleep.

or maybe i just love sleeping so much that i want to share that love with others.

maybe.

previous * next