* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

July 09*2002, 10:01 am

day two of temping is underway!

and already i am screwing around online. for shame. but not for too much shame.

i am an idiot and forgot my cds and headphones today- it is so quiet here i can hear my brain rotting. not a good sign. i need some music to drown that out.

i work on the creative services floor even though no part of what i am doing is creative in the least. but it means i have a sweet computer with a huge monitor and am on the more casual of the floors. i can even use a mac keyboard and mouse if i so choose. i have not done it. but i CAN do it and that is the difference.

i sit next to the cubicles of some gossipy older ladies. they are a good time. they keep teasing me for the length of the project i was given and they swear a lot.

"stockings?? i don't think so. that's bullshit- you should go in the ladies room and take them off- fuck this place"

i like the way they think.

i don't quite feel like the kids in the hall sketch- you know the one

"temp" "slut" "TEMP-SLUT! ha ha ha ha"

it's more like "temp" "young" "YOUNG TEMP ha ha ha" it's not my fault i am at least 30 years younger than the youngest one in these two rows.

and yesterday they asked me about my computer knowledge and it turns out they don't know much powerpoint and want me to help them. interesting.

one day on the job and i am already being used by people. it could be worse though, they could ignore me.

*************************************

last night i watched wet hot american summer in it's entirety. it was okay, but some of it just did not make sense. i like seeing thirty somethings play teenagers though. that never fails to make me belly laugh.

then we watched the awful truth and i got really chumpy. i mean, so slap happy i couldn't stand it. mike tuned a lot of it out but at some point i'm pretty sure that he was fed up. especially when i was using his body to stage a one person show. it was entertaining me. what can i say. then i played with the sheets the way gymnasts do the floor routine with those ribbon things. then i ran through the apartment and then i did some jumping jacks and taught mike how to waltz. i didn't have any sugar or much sleep. i don't know where it all came from. then i slept so soundly. i didn't wake up once until the alarm went off this morning. sweetness.

***************************************

i had weird dreams. in one my family had to team up to fight evil. and in another i made it my mission to find a sweet girl for mike. but ended up falling for him myself. whatta high school movie cliche. my dreams are made of cliches. and i am proud of that.

previous * next