* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

January 21* 2005, 11:07 am I am finding that in the last few months that I have not been writing enough. My plan to fix that, write in this thing more. I realize that it may not be the best plan. But, I can do it while at work and I have constant access to it. However it may just turn into an exercise in output and not actually quality. Thems the breaks.

So, my grandpa died. When my grandma called me on Saturday she said �did your dad tell your grandpa got worse?� �yeah, he called me last night,� I replied.

�Well, it�s even worse, he died this morning at quarter to 5.� My grandma cuts right through the bull.

Weirdly, mike had called me at about 5:30am nyc time because he couldn�t sleep and I couldn�t really either. Which means we were on the phone, antsy for no reason, when my grandpa stopped breathing.

The weekend was a whirlwind of plane ticket finding, errand running and general planning. Mike flew in, just for the day to go to the funeral and then jetted back to LA on Monday night. I flew in on Sunday and then left Tuesday night. My Kansas family drove down Sunday. So much planning it was hard to remember that something sad had happened.

Then, something I had been dreading since my grandpa got really sick, I had to spend two straight days with my mom. Holy cow, I hope that never has to happen again. She drove everyone nuts and just can�t stop talking about stupid bullcrap and puts me and sarah down left and right. She is also a compulsive liar. 2 days straight is just a lot to take of that lady.

Now I am back in new york and it�s just now hitting me fully that he�s gone. At the funeral, they opened the casket just before the end and I caught a glimpse of him. He was really pink and they smoothed out his wrinkles. I didn�t recognize him. That made me sad.

previous * next