* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

July 28* 2003, 10:23 pm my grandpa is dying.

he's been dying ever since i can remember. but now that he goes to the doctor it seems more real. before he was just whining. now that it's real he seems to want to live a lot more. that's the way life works i guess.

when i was a little kid i was very close to my grandpa. he retired early (due to alcoholism i learned when i was older) so he was my babysitter when i was a kid. i spent all day with him. when he mowed the yard i would push my bubble mower next to him. when he got a new hunting dog i named her "lady bug." he taught me how to fish with a mickey mouse fishing rod he got me. he says i was the smartest kid he's ever known.

he loves to remember funny stories and tell them when i see him at christmas every year. his idea of funny isn't everyone's though. one story he loves is from when i was about 8 and i said "i hope you die before grandma." kids are mean.

or when i was five, i was so attached to him that i followed him everywhere. so if i was in the bathroom (which was by the front door), he would go to the front door and jangle his car keys and say "hey chris, i'm leaving!" and i would come running out of the bathroom with my pants around my ankles yelling "wait for me!" he would die laughing and then go back to watching tv.

there was a room in my grandparent's house that had no windows. it was the scariest place in the world for a little kid. if the light was off it was pitch black, and i mean BLACK. my grandpa liked to lock me and my sister in there and then wait a minute while we were freaking out, and then run in and pretend to be a monster. he named this monster "oskee palooski." i have no idea what that means. he had an old tool shed in the backyard that he said oskee palooski lived in. if you laid in his bed at night and looked out his window he would say "did you see him!" and i'd say "who?" and he'd say "ole oskee just ran behind that bush!"

i knew he wasn't real.

but my 3 year old cousin was terrified. i don't know how old she was when she finally realized he was teasing her.

my grandpa was not a great man. he was not a great husband or a great dad. but he was a great grandpa. i am pretty sure that my mom is still jealous about that one. then again, my mom is the littlest kid i know.

i don't want him to die.

previous * next