* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

August 19*2002, 3:33 pm

after i wrote in here this morning (while wearing a night gown and slippers) i got called into work for the day at BET. that is black entertainment television. and basically they don't have much for me to do. or that they trust me to do. and my boss is a handsome older guy. but he seems to spend a lot of time in the gym/spa/manicurist. not my kind of handsome. he was nice to me but i have heard him be king of the assholes to the woman answering his phone for the day. yikes for her.

i have a line on some new jobs, but nothing has materialized yet. still waiting patiently. two of the options entail working part time and making full time money. i LOVE those options. so now i want those jobs and will be let down if they don't come through.

life is one big let down.

********************

i have been reading "nickeled and dimed" and its all about how people live on menial labor job earnings in america. and all the jobs that the writer takes on are jobs that my mom has done. and they are not easy and they do not pay the bills and they are mind-numbingly dull. my mom should have written a book.

sometimes it weirds me out that mike's parents are the type of people to employ a cleaning lady whereas my mom is a cleaning lady. i used to help her out with it when i was a kid. and i hated the rich a-holes she cleaned for. and the author of this book points out that no one is nice to you. or appreciative. and it is physically hard to do.

mike's mom wouldn't know the first thing about physically hard. maybe she is lucky.

but i was raised to dislike people like her.

i mentioned it to mike last night- as the party helper his mom used yesterday to clean up and set up was named rita, my mom's name- because it was on my mind. he said he can tell sometimes that things like that bother me.

his parents have way more money than they let on though. both mike and his brother are very normal guys with a great appreciation for working and paying bills and buying things on sale etc... all things i appreciate. so i sometimes forget the big differences between us.

and reading this book is making me sympathize with my mom even more than i already did. no wonder she didn;t have time for kids. she was too busy working two jobs so she wouldn't have to sleep in her car.

time to read more of the book (while i get paid at BET).

previous * next