* guestbook *

* diaryland *

* kimkim *

* i make movies *

* i am fascinating! *

* older entries *

March 07, 2002, 5:27 pm as i was walking outside today during my lunch break (in only a shirt as the weather is BEAUTIFUL!) i passed a building that smelled like a dark room.

i can't remember which dark room chemical makes it smell that way, is it the fix? or the stop? but i know it is not the wash, since that is just plain ole water.

so anyway, i pass this building and suddenly it was like i was in high school again. i guess it's because that is where i formed all of my "dark room memories".

and i remembered my photo teacher, mr. dakotas. he looked like a troll. a troll who only wore birkenstocks. he was so annoying. he had a beard like the billy goat's gruff. and he loved telling me how untalented i was. ahhhh memories.

but once he actually acted like i was okay. when i had a photo win top prizes across the country. but even then he was more like a fair weather fan. once he even made an announcement about my lack of ability. i was the president of the national art honors society and there is a contest once a year in which these societies compete.

he said "usually we take the president, but this year we won't because i only want to take talented people".

whatta guy.

and once a boy who was gross tried to kiss me in the dark room. ewww. and one semester i took an independent study during an hour when mr. dakotas did not have a class and i had the dark room all to myself. it was great. but it always ended too quickly.

it made me want a darkroom of my own someday. and i think i would still want that. i just need to pass this building more often and be reminded of how much i miss it.

previous * next